October 16

Pashley’s Pumpkin Patch

Pumpkin patch

 

Pashley’s Pumpkin Patch!

Through our BH-BL PEP Grant we have created garden boxes to grow vegetables.

This summer we decided to plant pumpkin seeds…and whoa-la!

Did you know…

Pumpkins are fruit.

Pumpkin flowers are edible.

Colonists sliced off pumpkin tips; removed seeds and filled the insides with milk, spices and honey.This was baked in hot ashes and is the origin of pumpkin pie.

Pumpkins are 90 percent water.

Eighty percent of the pumpkins supply in the United States is available in October.

Native Americans flattened strips of pumpkins, dried them and made mats.

The good: This food is low in Saturated Fat, and very low in Cholesterol and Sodium. It is also a good source of Vitamin E (Alpha Tocopherol), Thiamin, Niacin, Vitamin B6, Folate, Iron, Magnesium and Phosphorus, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Riboflavin, Potassium, Copper and Manganese.

Do you like to eat foods made with pumpkin?

 


Posted October 16, 2014 by pefairy in category Uncategorized

5 thoughts on “Pashley’s Pumpkin Patch

  1. Reeghan

    I love roasted pumpkin seeds with cinnamon. I also like pumpkin pie with vanilla ice cream. We ran the mile like a month ago I was the first one done and my time was 6 minutes and 40 seconds, I was so happy. I really miss you and Pashley too. Middle school is great !!!

  2. pefairy (Post author)

    Hi Reeghan!
    We miss you at Pashley too! Your little sister is so cute, and E. is doing amazing things in PE.
    I love roasted pumpkin seeds too…with salt.
    This weekend I am making pumpkin pancakes 🙂
    Thanks for checking in!
    Mrs. Ferrie

  3. Olivia T

    I love pumpkin pie and roasted pumpkin seeds like Reeghan. After my family carves our pumpkins we wash the seeds and roast it in the oven with sea salt. It is delicious. Wish I was having that at the middle school! 🙂

  4. pefairy (Post author)

    OLIVIA!! It is so great to hear from you 🙂
    I miss you all so much. Thanks for checking in on the blog!!
    I am crazy for pumpkin…coffee, bread, seeds, and soup.

    Keep checking in on the blog 🙂
    Mrs. Ferrie

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *