February 5

National Girls’ and Women in Sport Day 2013

Welcome to Pashley Elementary….Sarah Kuhn

Sarah Kuhn wanted to sign up for ballet class to help get her into better shape.

Since the studio was closed, she went next door to Sweeney’s Gym and signed up for boxing lessons instead.

Since then, she’s turned pro, she feels inspired, and continues to do well in her professional fights.

We our honored to have Boxer Sarah Kuhn be our guest speaker in PE class!!

What message did you learn today from Sarah’s visit?

20130207-055837.jpg

20130207-060054.jpg

20130207-163003.jpg

20130207-163016.jpg

20130207-163031.jpg

Tags:

Posted February 5, 2013 by pefairy in category Sports, Sportsmanship, Uncategorized

39 thoughts on “National Girls’ and Women in Sport Day 2013

  1. Genevieve

    Dear Mrs.Ferrie,

    That was the best assembly EVER!!!I don’t think I’ll ever see one like that again!That was AWSOME!!!!! πŸ™‚

  2. pefairy (Post author)

    I totally agree! She was AWESOME. She made sooo many great points about girls sports, hard work and life. Did you like her quotes? I did. I will try to look them up today and post them on the white board. Didn’t you love that she LOVES pink too!! She made a huge impression on all of us!!

  3. Hannah

    Sarah you were the best!!!!! I loved what you said about girls and sports!! I can’t believe you work out for 4 hours WOW!!

  4. Hannah

    I loved the quotes that you said they were GREAT!!!!! I think that it was very nice and awesome that you could come!!

  5. Kaitlyn

    Sarah I love your speech and edvice. I think that you inspired us all. My whole journal was gone because everyone wanted a peice of paper for your autografe. So I got a new journal. I think your a kind lady. I thougt that your belt was awesome.

    love kaitlyn

  6. Mrs. Benson

    Sarah Kuhn gave a wonderful presentation yesterday!! She was motivating and inspiring to both the children and adults in the room, and it was great listening to her speak. Mrs. Ferrie, thank you so much for bringing this wonderful presentation to us! We thoroughly enjoyed it!! πŸ™‚

  7. pefairy (Post author)

    “The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.” Eleanor Roosevelt . A quote from Sarah ‘s speech πŸ™‚

  8. sophia

    i was very impressed with Sarah’s speach i was so excited to meat her i even got a signiture!
    πŸ™‚

  9. Skylar W

    Yesterday was so much fun. I loved meeting sarah and listening to her talk about her life story. I also loved that we got to see all of the stuff she brought and to see her gloves especially.

  10. helene

    Sara is really an amazing inspration to me and probably everyone at the presintation! I told the story to my family at dinner time and my family really really enjoyed the story.

  11. emily b

    i thought that presentation was amazing!!! sarah kuhn is so inspireing. and i hope she can come back soon!!!!

  12. ashley a

    Yesterday i was very inpresed by sarah.She taught me a lot about boxing. I did not know that girls con be boxers.

  13. Kristen A

    i loved the gust speeker yesterday she was so nice and funny thank you sarah be strong and keep up your corage i also loved the story!! πŸ™‚

  14. Emilie.K

    sarah is awesome i wish i had her life it was cool and i want big muscles like her shes realy strong and i wish i can go to one of her boxing compation i bet it will be cool thanks sarh for comming u were amazing and thanks Mrs.Ferrie for letting her come have a nice life πŸ™‚ :p

  15. Jenna L.

    I enjoyed Sarah’s speech. I liked how she told us about how she went to try out for Dance but they were never open when she went to sign up a few doors down she saw Sweeny’s Boxing and went in and said “I think I can try it.” I think she did an AWESOME jog. πŸ™‚

  16. Emilie

    sarah is awesome i wish i had her life it was cool and i want big muscles like her shes realy strong and i wish i can go to one of her boxing compation i bet it will be cool thanks sarh for comming u were amazing and thanks Mrs.Ferrie for letting her come have a nice life πŸ™‚ :p

  17. Cristian

    I thought the presentation was really cool!!!!!(: (: I will remember you from the presentation. And the stuff on the table was really cool!!!(: (: I learned that to never give up on thing you want to do in life

  18. Alex M.

    I think her story was very interesting. I liked seeing her awards and achivments, it is very cool that she is 2 in the country and 6 the in the world. Although with all due respect, I do think it was unfair that the boys were not included in the Photograph, or autograph signing. Even though it was National Girls’ and Womens in Sport Day.

  19. pefairy (Post author)

    Alex thanks for the honest comment. I didn’t mean to leave the boys out. This “day” was planned a month ago…with the girls in mind. Next year…I will make sure to take more pictures πŸ™‚
    Maybe Sarah can come back and do some boxing workouts with us .
    Hmmmmmm

  20. Bryan

    Sarah I love your speech and edvice. I think that you inspired us all. My whole journal was gone because everyone wanted a peice of paper for your autografe. So I got a new journal. I think your a kind lady. I thougt that your belt was awesome.

    love kaitlyn

  21. Kristen A

    Thank you Sara I had a lot of fun and I am so amazed by you. I wish you you could stay and show us some moves it was grate and fun. I hope you liked pashley school you are amazing and don`t forget it.
    Love,
    Kristen A.

  22. Billie M

    Mrs. Ferrie,
    i absolutely loved the assembly and wish we could do it again. Sarah was so amazing and she was a great inspiration. i especially loved the two quotes that Sarah had shared with us and thought it was sooo cool. you know what? i think my teacher should have been there. (Mrs. Sala) Too bad though, she was out sick. this assembly was an amazing experience, and you know what? Girls may not get as much attention as boys and men athletes do, but we are still special and we know that in our hearts.

  23. Sarah Kuhn

    I had the best time visiting you all! Thank you so much for making me feel welcome and comfortable! I love talking about boxing and what Ive been able to accomplish in the sport, but speaking in front of all of you is one of my top favorite memories! πŸ™‚ I cant wait to visit you again! Keep up the great work and Ill be following along!

    <3 Sarah

  24. kaitlyn

    Hi Sarah love the comment. Well I got 3 autograghs 1 was real and 2 were print ups but they are still cool. We have the real one in the window by Mrs.Ferries door it was fun having you visit. Stay real STRONG and hope you always wear something pink

    Love,
    Kaitlyn

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *